Where this fits
Composio and the alternatives
What we read on Composio's site and docs, and how seven other tools describe themselves. Public pages read on 2026-10-20 and re-checked on 2026-10-21; these are their claims, not ours.
Why Composio is in this project
Composio is who this was built for, and it also changes the developer's question. If Composio can supply the OAuth app, a developer can start without registering one, so the useful guide is the one that says which case you are in, and what happens if you register your own. We use Composio three ways: its toolkit page is a source in each guide, its managed-auth status is shown beside the difficulty, and the live agent reads its setup guide and toolkit page first. Nothing here requires a Composio account or key.
What Composio's pages say
Positioning
An integration layer that lets AI agents and assistants act in 1,500+ apps, with managed auth, tool execution, triggers and sessions.
Managed OAuth
Composio can supply the OAuth app users authorize, so a developer needs no provider registration. A custom auth config is needed to bring your own app, request specific scopes, or use a toolkit without managed auth.
What the auth docs omit
The authentication page describes no developer OAuth-app approval or review process. That is the gap our guides address.
Existing guides
46 guide entries at composio.dev/auth (45 distinct apps; Slack is listed twice). Most are apps outside our library.
Pricing
Hobby $0 (100,000 tool calls and 50,000 trigger events a month, 3 team members); Pro $29 a month (includes a $29 usage credit); Enterprise custom. Connected accounts are unlimited with your own app. With Composio-managed apps the first 1,000 connections are free, managed apps cover only 20K of the 100K free calls, and calls then cost $0.0005 instead of $0.0003.
Rate limits
2,000 requests a minute on Hobby, 10,000 on Pro, per organization; OAuth and connected-account calls share that budget.
Recent auth changes
The newest auth entry is callback identity verification for OAuth connections (Jul 30, 2026), then an endpoint to revoke OAuth 2.0 tokens for a connected account (May 12, 2026). Entries after that, up to Sep 4, 2026, are SDK and CLI updates.
Terminology to use
user ID, session, toolkit, tool, auth config, connected account, Connect Link. Retired terms: entity ID, integration, connection, action.
How seven alternatives describe themselves
Nango
Open-source integration platform: auth, tools, syncs, webhooks, proxy.
Scale: 1,000+ APIs and 10,000+ tools and templates
Own OAuth app: Not stated on the landing page whether you register your own OAuth app.
Arcade.dev
Actions runtime for agents: auth, authorization, policy and audit around tool calls.
Scale: 8,000+ tools
Own OAuth app: Not stated whether you register your own OAuth app; auth runs against your identity provider.
Pipedream Connect
Managed auth, prebuilt tools and triggers, API proxy for agents and apps.
Scale: 3,000+ APIs and 10,000+ prebuilt tools and triggers
Own OAuth app: Its hosted OAuth clients by default; you can bring your own.
Paragon
Integration platform for AI and SaaS products: ActionKit, Managed Sync, workflows.
Scale: 130+ connectors
Own OAuth app: Not described on the page read.
Merge Agent Handler
Connects agents to tools with auth, DLP guardrails, scoped tool packs and audit.
Scale: "Thousands" of pre-built tools (no exact count)
Own OAuth app: Guided authorization flow; registration of your own app not stated.
Auth0 Token Vault
Stores users' third-party access and refresh tokens so agents can call APIs for them.
Scale: A handful of named providers plus custom
Own OAuth app: Not stated on the page read.
Zapier MCP
MCP access to Zapier's apps for AI clients; each tool call uses two Zapier tasks.
Scale: 9,000+ apps
Own OAuth app: Zapier's managed connection layer; not applicable to registering your own app.
What this suggests
Across the competitor pages we read, none mentioned guidance on registering and getting a provider OAuth app approved. Their pages say they handle auth and token refresh. That is a landing-page observation, not proof that their docs lack it, but it suggests the decision a developer faces before launch is under-served everywhere.